A Blast From The Past: The Saved By The Bell “No Hope With Dope” PSA

28 Mar

I remember when I was growing up, there was literally never a time when you couldn’t find Saved By The Bell playing somewhere.  I grew up watching The New Class (well, not so much watching as acknowledging because, even when I was just 10 years old, I knew The New Class sucked.)  And then, as I got older, I discovered not only the fabled Old Class but the fact that the Old Class was like those Shamwow and Snuggie commercials — annoying, terrible, but impossible not to watch and quote later.

One of the best things about Saved By The Bell was that every episode had a message and often time, that message was even funnier if considered while doing the sort of things that the show’s message specifically said you shouldn’t do.

Case in point: The PSA that appeared at the end of the infamous “No Hope With Dope” episode.

When watching the video below, pay special attention to the moment when Screech pops out of the locker and see if you can spot the picture of John Lennon smoking a joint.

2 Responses to “A Blast From The Past: The Saved By The Bell “No Hope With Dope” PSA”

  1. Cleverreality March 28, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Screech’s psychedelic shirt is kind of a weird choice too. I wish I could do a PHD degree about SBTB

    • Mark V May 12, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

      Bah, honestly, that’s something that really gets my goat, the whole wretched belief that if you wear psychedelic clothes, you’re some type of pill popper. I wear more colours than the rainbow, but I’ve never taken any sort of mind-altering substance…ever! Not even alcohol, not even one cigarette of any sort. I would say that the strange thing about this PSA is having Screech involved in the first place. He’s such a terrible nuisance of a character, I could imagine people doing the exact opposite of what he says, just so that they end up as little like him as possible. On a serious note, I always find it sad when the actors and actresses who participate in TV shows and PSAs with an anti-drug theme wind up as addicts. Case in point: almost everybody not named Conrad Bain from “Diff’rent Strokes”. As much as people may laugh at these PSAs, at least they’re made with good intentions. I can’t say that I’ve admired anybody for being a doper. The thing that makes me shake my head regarding marijuana (to use one example) is how its apologists argue that it’s a plant that grows naturally, so how can it be bad for you? Well, poison ivy is a plant that grows naturally, and I don’t see people lining up to go rolling around in it.

Leave a Reply

